Sacrament of Marriage

“Marriage” (matrimony) is one of the seven sacraments of the Church; “wedding” is an event during which the sacrament is solemnised.

Marriages may be celebrated in one of two ways:

  • Nuptial Mass in church – most often the case when both bride and groom are Catholic
  • Marriage Service – in church without Holy Communion, by far the most common form of celebration

The Diocese of Arundel and Brighton has two requirements before Marriage may be celebrated:

  • At least twelve months’ notice of the intention to marry must be given to the Parish Priest
  • A Pre-Marriage preparation course must be attended / completed

When marrying in our Parish, it may be possible for you to marry in either Cranleigh or Bramley Catholic Churches.

Below are some links that will help you with your planning.

  1. Planning your wedding
  2. Order of Service with Nuptial Mass
  3. Order of Service without Nuptial Mass (Wedding Liturgy)
  4. Readings
  5. Sample Prayers of the Faithful